How we're handling our customer complaints

We work hard to stop things going wrong so you don’t have to get in touch with us. But we know we’re not perfect, so if something’s not right, it's important we fix it as soon as we can.

Clear and simple

We must publish our complaints procedure and make the process for handling complaints clear and straight forward.

Process

We must ensure we follow our process every time and make sure you know what it is.

Communicate

We must make sure you know where you are in our process, from the time you first make a complaint to when we resolve it.

Our commitment

We’re committed to doing whatever we can to resolve complaints as quickly as possible. We aim to fully fix the customers issue to avoid them having to complain about the same problem again.

We started publishing detailed complaints data in March 2012 as we believed that it was important customers could see how their supplier dealt with problems.

We will continue to provide this quarterly information to show our performance over the past year.

Quarterly report - Q1 2019

The number of complaints has increased by 14,862 from 165,246 in quarter four of 2018 to 180,108 in quarter one of 2019. This is 16,358 complaints higher than in the same quarter of 2018 when we received 163,750 complaints.

The percentage of complaints resolved by the end of the next working day has increased since last quarter from 75.58%.to 76.01%.

The percentage of complaints we resolve within 8 weeks has decreased slightly from 95.38% to 94.96% this quarter.

  • Number of complaints opened
    180,108
  • Number of complaints opened per 100,000 customers
    3,079
  • % of complaints resolved in less than a day
    76.01%
  • Number of complaints resolved
    162,200
  • Number of complaints resolved per 100,000 customers
    2,773
  • % of complaints resolved within 8 weeks
    94.96%

Top reasons for complaints (2019)

Below is a break down of the top issues our customers complain about as a percentage of the total complaints we receive.

  • Customer service


    Jan - March 2018
     - 64%

  • Payments


    Jan - March 2018
     - 8%

  • Prepayment classic metering


    Jan - March 2018
     - 3%

  • Bills and meter readings


    Jan - March 2018
     - 12%

  • My prices


    Jan - March 2018
     - 6%

Customer service is at the heart of what we do

In July 2018, we made changes to the way we categorise our complaints. Complaints about our letters and systems are now recorded in the customer service category causing an increase in that area. These were previously recorded under the billing category which has seen a decrease in complaints. 

We've recruited more staff in our contact centres in quarter four with a key focus on the service we provide our customers. Responding to our customers' queries in a timely manner continues to be a focus.

Bills and meter readings

We continue to focus on providing accurate bills for customers where we have been unsuccessful in obtaining meter readings for some time.

Our smart meter roll out continues to support us getting bills right for our customers. We’ve currently installed over 1.5 million smart meters, giving our customers better control of their energy use and helping make estimated energy bills a thing of the past.

Payments

We’ve made further improvements to our systems; making it easier for colleagues to have helpful conversations with our customers who may be facing payment difficulty. Identifying this early helps us to treat customers fairly and understand their ability to pay.

It is a key focus for us to work with customers to agree affordable and sustainable payment arrangements and help minimise the impact of their energy bills.

We offer a wide range of payment options, including Direct Debit, prepayment and Smart Pay as You Go so that customers can choose to pay by a method that is most suitable for them.

My prices

In quarter four we started to quote our customers on our new Residential Price Cap for Standard Variable tariffs. This is ahead of the Price Cap coming into effect on 1 January 2019. You can learn more about the energy Price Cap and how it affects you here.

We have also launched our new Secure Bill tariff, which fixes customers Direct Debit payments for the next 12 months, meaning you can rest easy and not worry about energy bills.

Your payments won’t change, no matter how much energy you use. And by using less energy you could decrease your prices for the year after.

What should I do if I want to complain to E.ON?

We have a clear process for handling complaints. The first step is to contact us and let us know you’re dissatisfied. It’s important that you let us know about what’s gone wrong so we have a chance to fix it for you.

For more information on how we manage complaints and what you can expect from us when you have a complaint, read our complaints handling procedure.

You can find our complaints processes below:

 

Previous reports

Reports from previous quarters can be found below

Why customers complained in 2018
Top reasons for complaints (2018)
  • Customer service


    Jan - March 2018
     - 47%

    Apr - Jun 2018 - 47%

    Jul - Sept 2018 - 61%

    Oct - Dec 2018 - 64%

  • Payments


    Jan - March 2018
     - 11%

    Apr - Jun 2018 - 13%

    Jul - Sept 2018 - 12%

    Oct - Dec 2018 - 1%

  • Sales and renewals


    Jan - March 2018
     - 2%

    Apr - Jun 2018 - 2%

    Jul - Sept 2018 - 3%

    Oct - Dec 2018 - 3%

  • Bills and letters


    Jan - March 2018
     - 24%

    Apr - Jun 201825%

    Jul - Sept 201813%

    Oct - Dec 201811%

  • Metering


    Jan - March 2018
     - 10%

    Apr - Jun 2018 - 9%

    Jul - Sept 2018 - 4%

    Oct - Dec 2018 - 5%

Quarterly report - Q4 2018
Q4 2018

The number of complaints increased by 10,729 from 154,517 in Q3 2018 to 165,246 in Q4 218. This is 4,277 complaints higher than in the same quarter of 2017 when we received 160,969 complaints.

We changed how we categorise our complaints from July 2018 which is why our top five reasons are now different.

The percentage of complaints resolved by the end of the next working day decreased since the previous quarter from 77.59% to 75.58%. The percentage of complaints we resolved within 8 weeks increased slightly from 94.97% to 95.38% this quarter.

  • Number of complaints opened
    165,246
  • Number of complaints opened per 100,000 customers
    2,720
  • % of complaints resolved in less than a day
    75.58%
  • Number of complaints resolved
    147,884
  • Number of complaints resolved per 100,000 customers
    2,434
  • % of complaints resolved within 8 weeks
    95.38%
Quarterly report - Q3 2018
Q3 2018

The number of complaints increased by 4,981 from 149,536 in Q2 2018 to 154,517 in Q3 2018. This is 2,219 complaints lower than in the same quarter of 2017 when we received 156,736 complaints.

We changed how we categorise our complaints from July 2018 which is why our top five reasons are now different.

The percentage of complaints resolved by the end of the next working day increased since the previous quarter from 69.19% to 77.59%. The percentage of complaints we resolved within 8 weeks increased slightly from 93.48% to 94.97% this quarter.

  • Number of complaints opened
    154,517
  • Number of complaints opened per 100,000 customers
    2,517
  • % of complaints resolved in less than a day
    77.59%
  • Number of complaints resolved
    139,727
  • Number of complaints resolved per 100,000 customers
    2,277
  • % of complaints resolved within 8 weeks
    94.97%
Quarterly report - Q2 2018
Q2 2018

The number of complaints decreased by 14,214 from 163,750 in Q1 2018 to 149,536 in Q2 2018. This was 13,753 complaints higher than in the same quarter of 2017 when we received 135,783 complaints.

The percentage of complaints resolved by the end of the next working day slightly improved since the previous quarter from 68.88% to 69.19%. The percentage of complaints we resolved within 8 weeks decreased slightly from 93.74% to 93.48% this quarter. 

  • Number of complaints opened
    149,536
  • Number of complaints opened per 100,000 customers
    2,415
  • % of complaints resolved in less than a day
    69.19%
  • Number of complaints resolved
    147,180
  • Number of complaints resolved per 100,000 customers
    2,377
  • % of complaints resolved within 8 weeks
    93.48%
Quarterly report - Q1 2018
Q1 2018

The number of complaints increased by 2,781 from 160,969 in Q4 2017 to 163,750 in Q1 2018. This is 24,273 complaints higher than in the same quarter of 2017 when we received 139,477 complaints. 

The percentage of complaints resolved by the end of the next working day slightly decreased since last quarter from 69.17% to 68.88%. The percentage of complaints we resolved within 8 weeks remained the same this quarter at 93.74%. 

  • Number of complaints opened
    163,750
  • Number of complaints opened per 100,000 customers
    2,607
  • % of complaints resolved in less than a day
    68.88%
  • Number of complaints resolved
    159,419
  • Number of complaints resolved per 100,000 customers
    2,538
  • % of complaints resolved within 8 weeks
    93.74%
Quarterly report - Q4 2017
Q4 2017

The number of complaints increased by 4,233 from 156,736 in Q3 2017 to 160,969 in Q4. This is 43,697 complaints higher than in the same quarter of 2016.

Long call waits were still causing higher volumes of complaints in Q4. We continued to work on service stabilisation and this resulted in wait times improving across the quarter to within two minutes in December. We expected to see this lead to a reduced number of complaints on this topic in Q1 2018.

The percentage of complaints resolved by the end of the next working day slightly decreased since  the previous quarter from 70.88% to 69.17%. There was a slight increase in the percentage of complaints we resolved within 8 weeks against the last quarter from 93.43% to 93.74%. 

  • Number of complaints opened
    160,969
  • Number of complaints opened per 100,000 customers
    2,573
  • % of complaints resolved in less than a day
    69.17%
  • Number of complaints resolved
    157,084
  • Number of complaints resolved per 100,000 customers
    2,511
  • % of complaints resolved within 8 weeks
    93.74%
Quarterly report - Q3 2017
Q3 2017

The number of complaints increased by 20,953 from 135,783 in Q2 2017 to 156,736 in Q3. This is 50,099 complaints higher than in the same quarter of 2016.

This increase was due to us taking longer to answer the phone than we'd like to. It's something we're working hard to put right. 

The percentage of complaints resolved by the end of the next working day increased since the previous quarter from 67.62% to 70.88%. There was also an increase in the percentage of complaints we resolved within 8 weeks against the last quarter from 92.52% to 93.43%. 

  • Number of complaints opened
    156,736
  • Number of complaints opened per 100,000 customers
    2,553
  • % of complaints resolved in less than a day
    70.88%
  • Number of complaints resolved
    152,963
  • Number of complaints resolved per 100,000 customers
    2,491
  • % of complaints resolved within 8 weeks
    92.43%
Quarterly report - Q2 2017
Q2 2017

The number of complaints decreased by 3,694 from 139,477 in Q1 2017 to 135,783 in Q2. This is 21,248 complaints higher than in the same quarter of 2016.

The percentage of complaints resolved by the end of the next working day increased slightly since the previous quarter from 67.39% to 67.62%. There was also a slight increase in the percentage of complaints we resolved within 8 weeks against the last quarter from 92.07% to 92.52%.

  • Number of complaints opened
    135,783
  • Number of complaints opened per 100,000 customers
    2,211
  • % of complaints resolved in less than a day
    67.62%
  • Number of complaints resolved
    134,104
  • Number of complaints resolved per 100,000 customers
    2,184
  • % of complaints resolved within 8 weeks
    95.52%
Quarterly report - Q1 2017
Q1 2017

The number of complaints increased by 22,205 from 117,272 in Q4 2016 to 139,477 in Q1 2017. This is 58 complaints lower than in the same quarter of 2016.

The percentage of complaints resolved by the end of the next working day increased since Q4 2016 from 63.77% to 67.39%. We also increased the percentage of complaints we resolved within 8 weeks against Q4 2016 from 90.75% to 92.07%.

  • Number of complaints opened
    139,477
  • Number of complaints opened per 100,000 customers
    2,250
  • % of complaints resolved in less than a day
    67.39%
  • Number of complaints resolved
    137,075
  • Number of complaints resolved per 100,000 customers
    2,211
  • % of complaints resolved within 8 weeks
    92.07%